Alumni Achievements


July 2012

Congratulations to Dave Bonner (BS 2002, MAT 2003) who was selected one of 97 teachers nationwide to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.  He traveled to Washington, D.C. this summer to meet President Obama and accept his award.  The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding kindergarten to 12th grade science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators following an initial selection process at the state level.   Burr Ridge Suntimes article


May 2012

Hope Spangler Strickland (MAT 1993) was selected as Dayton Public Schools' 2012 Teacher of the Year.  A teacher at Stiver School for the Arts, Mrs. Strickland serves as coordinator for the Physics Department's annual Stiver School visit, which brings 40-50 students to campus for a day of physics.  Read more about her award.


March 2012

Janet Hurn (BA 1987, MAT 1990) had a contribution published in Quick Hits Teaching with Technology: Successful Strategies by Award Winning Teachers.  Her article is The Inverted Hybrid Science Classroom.  “I am excited to share what is going on in the classroom in Miami Physics.  This isn’t your typical classroom, and I think it is the future of education. I love teaching this way,” said Hurn.  Read her article here.





620 E. Spring Street, 133 Culler Hall, Oxford, OH 45056 | phone: 513.529.5625 | contact information
Design and dynamIt content copyright © 2014 Miami University Department of Physics. All rights reserved.